St. Enoch Square was originally opened in 1783 as a grazing area for sheep and since then it has seen some of Glasgow’s finest landmarks come and go.
St. Enoch Railway Station first opened its doors in 1876 and the St. Enoch Hotel followed in 1879.
The St. Enoch Hotel was closed in 1974 and the site was used as a car park until 1985 when initial work started on St. Enoch Centre, the first shopping centre of its kind in Scotland.
Since opening on May 25, 1989, St. Enoch Centre has consistently led the way for shopping centres in Scotland, inspiring the growth of Glasgow’s vibrant retail sector.
During the early part of 1998 St. Enoch Centre underwent a major refurbishment programme to add more retail space and enhance the entrance facing onto Argyle Street.
In February 2005, St. Enoch Centre was purchased by Ivanhoe Cambridge, and work started on an extensive £150 million redevelopment and refurbishment programme.
The first phase of the redevelopment was unveiled in November 2009 with the opening of world famous toy store Hamleys, and completed in May 2010, welcoming a range of new and exclusive stores as well as cafes & restaurants overlooking St. Enoch Square.
In 2013, the Centre was acquired by Blackstone.